be concise

11 07 2009

Sticking with the blogging is going to be tough – I knew it.  My only down time is after 8 pm and I am pretty much incapable of doing anything that requires coherence, let alone wit and insight.  It will get more interesting, I promise… I just need to find a groove.  Being a self-pr0fessed perfectionist makes blogging a more than challenging task (can anyone relate?)… while I would love to adopt a stream of consciousness style of blogging, my obsession with using the most concise word is a significant limiting factor (thank you, Mr. Tim Zeman, my high school English teacher). (I have re-written this paragraph 5 times and am still not satisfied – what is another word for “using”??) – oh wait, I should have said “… my relentless pursuit of the most concise word…”  See what I mean?

My objective is to be focused and intentional… I am still working out in my head what that means.  A seasoned blogger has advised me to simply write about my experiences initially (to which I give her props, she is amazing at turning the mundane into the sublime) – I do want my blog to have a “shape” – which is hopefully not too square.

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 07 2009
seasoned blogger

try writing an entry without pressing the delete key ONCE. I have done this, but it was out of laziness. I didn’t want my pinky to reach up to it. It was also fun. try.
things never have shape until they grow. Hello… haircuts? a terrible one can grow into an awesome one. just write.. then you’ll be surprised at what shape it organically turns into.

8 10 2009
LRinTO

As an English major, ex-editor and proofreader, I am grateful to you and Mr. Zeman! I’ve read your blog “back to front”, and your voice rings clearly, your style shines through all the entries.

8 10 2009
Jen Hill

For many of these same reasons, I have not begun to blog:) Way to go for getting past any fears! That, and I have too many other creative pursuits that required supplies which I must now use. I bet Nick would have liked the cost of blogging much better:) I will enjoy reading your blog instead. And now, to my stamps I go.

Leave a Reply

