front and centre

5 11 2009

IMG_2420Three things have been front & centre on my mind over the past week – and I just want to air them from least distressing to most distressing.  As always, I welcome all comments and even a drawn out discussion!

H1N1 hype vs. hope

Media makes me crazy!  So unreliable, so untrustworthy.  The primary objective of the media seems to be to mobilize social chaos.  Is that how we want to live our lives?  In some elevated state of irrational fear based on speculation and hype?  Not I.  With no reasonable evidence in the media – or on the mommy blogs – of an expert or professional opinion on the efficacy and safety of the H1N1 vaccine, I was thankful for two insights that surfaced last week – one from my cousin’s wife who is a paediatric emerg doc at the U of A hospital in Edmonton, who encouraged us to vaccinate our children (whose boys sadly caught the virus just before they could get the vaccine).  And, two – through a Facebook thread where I realized that the only thing that mattered is that we relinquish control (once again) over our children placing the whole thing in God’s hands, who gifted them to us in the first place.  By succumbing to the fear mongering and becoming paralyzed by that fear, no matter which decision we made for our families, we were essentially saying that we did not believe that our God is Able.  He may not spare us from suffering, but he promises a hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11)… it just may be a different future than our human imaginations can render.

motherhood

I just want to take a moment to encourage my mom friends… actually, I want to sincerely congratulate all of you!  You all look fabulous when we meet up, you are all perky and positive, you are still clever and witty, you are interesting and talented – and I know that you are all on significantly reduced sleep; you have babies who cry a lot; you have toddlers who are defying your “authority” (and I use that term loosely) at every step; you have pre-schoolers who are exerting their independence and testing the limits; they are teething; they are ill; they are bonking their heads; they are thwarting your best laid plans.  But, motherhood looks so good on you — your children make you glow with pride and gush with adoration.  Glowing and gushing trumps stress and anxiety.

On another note, I have pretty much decided that I will write a parenting book for moms with boys, because I’m convinced that most of them were written by mothers of little girls.  More about that later.  🙂

marriage

This is huge.  It’s material for 50 or more blogs.  But, this has been the most distressing thing on my mind for the past several days.  It has recently come to my attention that the marriages of many of my friends and acquaintances are already fractured or in trouble.  I am not aware of the circumstances in most cases… I have no intention of judging, it’s not my place.  But, I am so sad.  I know that there have been unspeakable hurts.  Actually, I don’t want to get into it at all… at least not today – just to say that it’s been very distracting and has been the subject of a lot of my prayers this week.  I hope you will join me in asking God to protect our families and to position Himself as the central figure in our marriage relationships – and in all of our relationships for that matter.

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 11 2009
Vaness

H1N1 – still torn but mostly decided. Not afraid, but just not convinced either way, ya know?
motherhood – yeah, you saw my FB status(es). 🙂 Toddlers have a special ability of being so undeniably cute so as to help you forget their previous mishaps/defiance. 🙂 I gotta say…motherhood looks great on you too. 🙂 You are one hot mama.
marriage – sigh. I don’t have much else to say on this one either. sad stuff.

6 11 2009
Stephanie

Such truth Dee.

H1N1…. totally with you. I believe that there is a balance to all things. I and my little ones will get the vaccine, but only because I know their immune systems are so delicate. Once they are older, I will abstain. I believe that we are making our immune systems weak by vaccinating ourselves against viruses that will only make us stronger in the end.

Motherhood… ditto to the above (or below?) commenter.

Marriage… again, totally with you on this one. Marriage is so much harder and so much more fulfilling than I ever conceived as a young(er) woman. It takes so much work, and patience, and trust and FAITH. It takes such strength to create a strong marriage, and perhaps those that have failed are for the best…. I do not believe in one marriage or one love, but i do believe that there are people who more and less suited for the monumental endeavour that is long term partnership. Perhaps those people that have failed already are simply becoming free to realize a truer partnership. The heartbreak is an unfortunate side note, but it’s the fire that burns away the impurities and makes us better, more refined, wiser people when that next partner choice is made.

*ahem, climbs down from soapbox*

ok. I’m done now 🙂

9 11 2009
amy

I think the true vision of marriage has been sidelined for a convenient way to avoid feeling lonely. In our culture, it is absurd to think about yielding to your partner and instead we try to control them. Inevitably this leads to failure since two persons are trying to get into the driver’s seat. No one’s needs are being met and soon enough, someone leaves to find another person that can meet all their needs (mainly, to feel loved).

Destroying relationships, is a sure fire way to destroy community and I believe we were created to be in community (with God, with others, with our world), for the long haul. We’re all pretty selfish, admit it. We need God to humble us to see it is our duty to love Him and to love others. We should not demand love, solely because we are already loved and many of us do not realize it.

Leave a Reply

